Yummy Protein Power Ball Recipe

O.K. week 5 of the Insanity Exercise Challenge & Food Detox (no chocolate eaten yet!!!) and I wanted some sort of quick, yummy, healthy protein bar (with a bit of sweetness) that I could pop in my mouth after boot camp or on the run for a hit of energy instead of chocolate!

As the sugar is off the food detox list, I asked some like-minded food friends if they had any receipes that fit my needs.

Here is a friend of a friend’s (who is a Type 1 diabetic) recipe that was originally passed to her from her naturopath and she has tweaked the recipe to make it soooo yummy, gooey and good!!  Thank you, thank you!!

> 1 cup brown rice syrup
> 1-2 cups hemp seed
> 1 cup almond butter
> 3/4 cup puffed rice cereal
> Nuts, seeds, raisins, you name it.
(I threw in sunflower seeds, cashews & raisins…not on the In list for detox but the kids like them and 5 weeks in, what is a few raisins compared to handfuls of organic dark chocolate covered cashews!)

> She throws in some hemp protein sometimes, just to get the extra protein after a workout.  (My first batch I didn’t add any as I wanted it to be the most kid-friendly the first go round.)  One of my boys liked them!

> Mix, pour into pan, flatten and refrigerate. Cut into squares and keep in fridge or freezer.

Knowing these were gooey, I wanted to make them easier to eat on the run, so I rolled them into 1 inch balls and froze them! Just dip your hands in warm water when the rolling gets too sticky.

My friend usually doubles or triples the recipe, cause she can’t keep them in the house.  So understand!!  I can’t tell you how many I packed back yesterday afternoon!

My next go round, I am going to play around with replacing the nut ingredients with other to make them school-lunch safe.  Pumpkin or sunbutter and pumpkin seeds in place of the nut stuff.

Leave a comment